Top Menu

Private Music Lessons

Should My Student Take Private Music Lessons?

The quick answer is YES! Private instruction is when a student is able to work one-on-one with a professional musician, the private teacher is able to work more in depth with the student on their instrument. Students will get help with developing a more professional tone on the instrument, fundamentals of playing their instrument correctly with better technique and help with a set of goals that will help your student excel on their instrument. Of course, the student must do their part and practice the lessons and assignments that the private teacher assigns to the student. Over the years, we know that when a student studies privately, they will improve as a musician. We have never witnessed a student become a worse musician when studying privately. At Mt.Carmel, we have a list of highly recommended teachers where many teach on campus after school. What could be easier to help your student improve on their instrument by taking lessons?

Recommended Private Music Instructors (scroll down for the list)

Flute
Sandra Russell 619 917 1878
sdcr68@gmail.com

Jane Masur 858 748 4721
jane@ozziesmusic.com

Oboe

Amy Kalal

619-244-7814

Bassoon
Danette White (619) 444 1087

Clarinet
April Leslie (619) 792-5339
aprilleslie@gmail.com

Anders Nelson

Saxophone
Keith Jacobson
keithjacobson@cox.net
(619) 583-1277
(619) 987-1277

Trumpet
Tim Saeger (858) 922 0846
tim.saeger@att.net

French Horn

Rachael Casey

rcasey@powayusd.com

Mike McCoy 858 245 4697
mikelmccoy@mac.com

Trombone/Baritone
Jim Prindle (858) 278 8206
jimandcat@juno.com

Louise Titlow (619) 990 5622
pltromeup@att.net

Sean Reusch (760) 438 4884

Tuba

Eric Hom

858 354 0397

Scott Sutherland (818) 434 1596
tubaguy68@hotmail.com

Percussion

Greg Karlo

619 905-5760

greg@safetyorange.com

Violin
Maya Ginsberg (858) 775 8389
maya@mayaginsberg.com

Viola

Michael Tagart (619) 392-7347

mjtagart@musician.org

 

Cello
Anna Piland (858) 761-1526
anna.piland@gmail.com

String Bass
Sam Johnson (619) 847 7409
sklosh@hotmail.com